This must be something important!

Over the last two days I have sat through hours and hours of inductions for the new project I’m on.

Had to be tested for drugs and alcohol before they would allow me to be employed or have a site card.

The induction stuff seemed endless!

But one new part… a part that I have never seen in another induction…

If I am approached by a member of the press I am to decline to comment. I am to direct them to the main reception of the offices and I am to report the fact that I have been approached by a member of the press to my supervisor.

If I am approached by a member of the public, again I have to decline to comment but turn their attention to the main signs around the site and tell them to contact the phone numbers/emails/webpages for their information.

Ha. But then the lady leading my induction did say if we get waylaid by a member of the public to and from site then we should acquaint ourselves with the knowledge of the location of the nearest tube entrance or M&S. Nothing like destroying your illusions of public interest in archaeology eh!

Leave a Reply

